



District 13 USA Section

San Antonio hosts 2008 annual convocation



Top row left to right: Lyndon S. Low, Philip B. Maldonado, Mark Don Phipps, Mahtab Sadrameli, William L. Mihram, Larry D. Trapp, Janice Sugiyama.

Bottom row left to right: Kerry K. Carney, Alan L. Felsenfeld, James P. McAndrews, Devang M. Gandhi, Michael W. Lew, Kevin M. Keating, and Virginia Hughson-Otte.

F ifteen new California ICD members were inducted on October 17, 2008, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in San Antonio, Texas. Dean Kenneth L. Kalkwarf of the University of Texas Health Science Center gave the keynote address. After the induction ceremony by President Newell E. Warr, President-elect Leighton A. Wier congratulated each new member. World President Norinaga Moriyama and his wife Reiko also attended the ceremony and the evening program. Mary Jo Webster, assistant to ICD Secretary General and Registrar Robert E. Brady, was welcomed into the college as an honorary member.



















Read top left clockwise: Regent Loveridge with Mahtab Sadrameli, Kerry Carney receives membership, Virginia Hughson-Otte with regent, three couples Daby, Hawkins, and Keating, regent with Devang Gandhi, Janice Sugiyama and Robert Berkenmeier, group procession before ceremony, Kerry Carney and Tom Campbell, regent Loveridge with Alan Felsenfeld. Group shot in center

KUDOSI

Sigmund Abelson, an alumnus from the University of the Pacific, has been appointed acting dean of the University of Southern California School of Dentistry. Abelson assumed the role November I, 2008, and will remain acting dean until USC completes a national search for a new dean. Prior to his current appointment, Abelson served as associate dean for clinical affairs. A 1966 graduate of the Dugoni School of Dentistry, Abelson served as speaker of the house and director of governance, strategic development and component relations for the California Dental Association.

Nader Nadershahi has been appointed as associate dean for Academic Affairs at the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry.

Arthur A. Dugoni received the Ellis Island Medal of Honor on May 10, 2008, by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations. NECO presents the award to American citizens of diverse origins for their outstanding contributions to their communities, their nation and the world. Past recipients include six US presidents, Nobel Prize winners, athletes, leaders of industry, artists, and others whose work has made a lasting impact on humanity. Dugoni accepated the award during a special ceremony held on Ellis Island.

On October 22, 2008, Dugoni accepted the SCADA Achievement award from the International Association of Student Clinicians-American Dental Association. The Alan J. Davis/ SCADA Achievement Award recognizes dedication to the dental profession and efforts to promote the aims and objectives of the organization. Dugoni accepted the honor during the ADA annual session.

In 2004 Dugoni became the first and only person in the USA to have a dental school named in his honor while holding the

Cherilyn G. Sheets received a 2008 Shils Award along with the National Museum of Dentistry, and DENTSPLY International. The Dr. Edward B. Shils Entrepreneurial Education Fund was founded in 2002 to recognize outstanding entrepreneurial initiatives that educate the community at large on the impact of oral health or provide opportunities for those in the dental industry and in the profession.

Congratulations On these ICD acheivements

Calendar of Events

Continuing Education Conference Baltimore, Maryland April 19-20, 2009 Section VIII, Australasia Perth, Australia March 2009 Section V, Europe Lisbon, Portugal June 25-27

International College of Dentists, California

Donna B. Hurowitz, editor 490 Post St. 1620 San Francisco, CA 94102